Indian History- Modern India MCQ Part-3

1. Which of the following movement contributed to the split in the Indian National Congress resulting in the emergence of 'moderates' and 'extremists'

(UPSC, 2015)

Swadeshi Movement
Quit India Movement
Non-Cooperation Movement
Civil Disobedience Movement

2. Which of the following was/were the features of the Quit India Movement?

(CAPF, 2016)

1. From the very beginning, it was a rural revolt

2. It was essentially a moderate movement

3. It was marked by the unprecedented use of violence

4. It was marked by acute state repression

Select the correct answer using the code given below:

1 and 2
3 and 4 only
1, 3 and 4

3. Which of the following is true about the Hunter Commission?

  1. The Disorders Inquiry Committee came to be known as the Hunter's Commission.
  2. It was ordered by Edwin Montagu
  3. It was commissioned to look into the Royal Navy Revolt.
  4. Three Indians were part of this commission.

4. Where was the Special Session of the congress held in September 1920?


5. Who was the first President of the AITUC?

Bal Gangadhar Tilak
Lala Lajpat Rai
Mahatma Gandhi
Jawahar Lal Nehru

6. Bhagat Singh and Batukeshwar Dutta threw bomb in the Central Legislative Assembly to protest against what?

Public Safety Bill
Rowlatt Act
Vernacular Press Act
Communal Award

7. Which of the following was not a demand of the Nehru Commission of 1928?

Poorna Swaraj
Responsible government at the center
Linguistic Provinces
19 Fundamental Rights

8. Khudai Khidmatgars were active during which phase of the freedom struggle?

Salt Satyagrah
Quit India Movement
Home Rule League Movement
Swadeshi Movement

9. Annie Besant was

  1. Responsible for the Home Rule League movement in India
  2. the founder of Theosophical Society
  3. once the President of the Congress


1 only
2 and 3 only
1 and 3 only
1,2, and 3 only

10. The Government Of India Act of 1935 was passed under the viceroyship of ?

Lord Willingdon
Lord Irwin
Lord Linlithgow
Lord Elgin

11. Who founded the Allahabad Textile Labour Association?

(UPSC, 2009)

Mahatma Gandhi
Sardar Vallabhai Patel
N.M. Joshi
J. B. Kriplani

12. In context of Indian History , the principle of 'Dyarchy' refers to?

(UPSC, 2017)

Division of Central Legislature into two houses
Introduction of Double Government ie. Central and State Government
Having two sets of rulers- one in London, and the other in Delhi
Division of subjects delegated to provinces into categories

13. Under whose presidency was the term Swaraj mentioned in the Congress meeting for the very first time?

Dadabhai Naroji
Rash Behari Ghosh

14. When were the first general elections held in Inia during the British Rule.


15. Which one of the following was a journal brought out by Abul Kalam Azad?


The Indian Sociologist